23

16992283073_bb32997dfe_o

17154228793_b6f47e034b_o

17748976026_9c32a19f13_o

Enjoying the frigid waters of Laurel Creek on Mother’s Day.  Laurel Creek was not deep enough and too rocky to actually “swim” in (at least the area we were in), but it was great for wading, rock collecting, sitting, and hopping from rock to rock. The Laurel River Trail was suggested to us because it makes for good hiking with little ones in tow, and indeed we spied a lot of families hiking the trail adjacent to the creek. On a personal note, I have trained myself not to care about Mother’s Day.  My first Mother’s Day was a couple of days after my ex-husband left us, after that it was just me and Foos, and she was too little to care. This Mother’s Day is already a memory, but it is one I will keep in my heart and mind for a long time.  Seth and Foos sung me a Mother’s Day song (to the tune of happy birthday, in case you were wondering). I got so many kisses, and hugs, and I love yous.  It was beyond tender.  This is the first year I have not been a single parent, and as cheesy and meaningless as it may be in the grander scheme of things, it felt great.

ROSAFINAL

Photos: Seth

Leave a Reply

